Fruit

I decided to teach the children about food and today I started with fruit.  To give me ideas about how “Food” is taught in Science in Spanish bilingual projects I had a look at a couple of CLIL didactic units for 1st graders.  I decided that the units were too advanced for my students and started off simple by naming different types of fruit.  During the class I told the children that fruit form a part of the 5 main food groups.

I brought different types of fruit to class and told them their names in English.  We then went around the circle and they had to tell me one of their favorite fruits.  They said the name in Spanish and I told them the name in English.  They went on to repeat “I like …” After this we watched the Dream English fruit song “I like apples” and watched the short video “Lets Practice English: Fruit“.  I read them the story of The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle.  For “homework” they have to bring to class a picture (cut out or hand drawn) of two different types of fruit.

We finished the class with an exciting game of musical chairs using the “I like apples” song!

Leave a Reply

