2 October 2012: Meeting the children

I´m teaching a group of 10 five-year-olds in an after-school class in Salamanca, Spain.  We meet twice a week for 1 hour.  I started at the beginning of October 2012. I´m new to blogging and teaching and want to use this blog to organize my material and thoughts about teaching English to Spanish children.

My first class

I began the class by introducing myself to the children.  We talked about general class rules and I asked them to tell me a little bit about themselves.  We began with “My name is… and I am…”.  I spoke to the children mainly in Spanish.  In order to break the ice, we played a movement game.  I made up a song using commands like “clap, clap, clap you hands, clap, clap, clap your hands”, stamp your feet, turn around, stand up, sit down and so on. They really liked this game. We then did a worksheet about “I am…” where they had to  draw different types of faces: happy, sad, scared, nervous etcetera.

We finished the class by listening to the song “Head, shoulders, knees and toes” by Matt at Dream English.

The class in general went well and we were on our way to getting to know each other.

Leave a Reply

